Liberal Thoughts

issues that otherwise won't matter to the others

I Have To…

Listening to the winds
whistling from the horizon
shocked by the thunder
emerging all of a sudden.
Reminding me the battles of the past
the sound of the swords
the cry from the battlefront
cannons being fired
that shattered my desire
to overlook my wounds
But I was a soldier,
I had to go on.

Lightning reminded me
the flash of the guns
the shells, the bombs
shaking my heart confused.
Which bullet is mine?
But I was a soldier
I had to carry on.

Today I see and realize
my red, bloody hands
weak and numb, that won me
indelible moments of the battles.
The ghosts of the dead
visiting me with distressed faces.
But I am a soldier
I have to carry on.

February 6, 2006 - Posted by | Poematic

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

